Participation grants & abstract awards

Participation grants

The call for participation grant applications has closed on March 1, 2021 (23:59 CET).

Participation grant application has closed

Participation Grants (previously called Travel Grants) provide complimentary registration for the upcoming EHA Virtual Congress. These grants will be available for investigators with accepted abstracts only, submitted during the regular abstract submission. Participation Grants are intended to support young investigators; therefore applicants should be 36 years of age or younger. A number of Participation Grants have been reserved for abstract authors from countries with lower- and lower/middle-income economies.

Participation Grant applications will be reviewed based on the following criteria:

Note: Current winners of EHA research grants, CRTH or TRTH programs are not eligible to receive a Participation Grant.

The Scientific Program Committee (SPC) will decide, according to the scores of the abstracts, which abstract receives a Participation Grant. This will be announced to the submitting author together with their abstract allocation by email by April 23, 2021.

Any questions regarding the criteria, the application or procedure can be directed to

YoungEHA Best Abstract Award

One of the primary missions of the European Hematology Association is to support young hematology clinicians and researchers. Therefore at EHA22 we launched the YoungEHA Best Abstract Awards. These are awarded to the highest ranking abstracts in the following four categories: Clinicians or medical students training for a PhD degree, PhD research students, postdoctoral fellows and clinical hematology trainees. Winners will present their abstracts at the Congress during a special session - it is our honor to welcome these YoungEHA trainees– they are the future of Hematology. The Award consists of € 500 and free registration to the next congress of EHA.Awards

Please note that this award does not require an application procedure. The selection is made by the Scientific Program Committee and Advisory Board based on the highest ranking abstracts.


Additional participation grant possibilities:


The COST Action CA18233 – “European Network for Innovative Diagnosis and Treatment of Chronic Neutropenias, EuNet-INNOCHRON” can provide a conference grant to a PhD student or a PhD candidate or Early Career Investigator (PhD obtained within the last 8 years) with a primary affiliation in an Institution located in one of the Inclusiveness Target Countries-ITC participating in the Action i.e. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Malta, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Turkey.

The EuNet-INNOCHRON ITC Conference Grant will cover the registration fees to the EHA2021 Virtual Congress this year. The grant candidates should have their work selected as an oral or poster presentation at the EHA2021 Virtual Congress and the main subject of their presentation should be on the topic of the Action which is Chronic Neutropenias and should acknowledge COST.

The grant candidates should submit a) their CV, b) a short description of their involvement in the Action, c) an acceptance letter from the EHA2021 Virtual Congress organizers (confirming either their speaking slot or their poster presentation), d) a copy of the abstract or poster submitted to the EHA2021 Virtual Congress, to the COST Action EuNet-INNOCHRON in order to have their application considered for approval.

Contact e-mail: (Dr H.A. Papadaki).


British Society of Haematology (BSH) - Scholarships

As part of the BSH Travel Scholarships, the British Society of Haematology (BSH) is providing a number of scholarships, including complimentary registration, for the EHA2021 Virtual Congress. The application is open to all BSH Members who have been with the Society for at least one year (please note that individuals can only receive a BSH Travel Scholarship once in a three-year period). Applications are competitively assessed after the deadline, and priority will be given to members in training or those who are presenting work at the meeting.

The deadline to submit your application is May 4, 2021.

For more information about the grand and to apply, click here.



Related webpages