Awards Ceremony Plenary Session I

On Saturday, June 15 Plenary Session I took place and it was opened by Professor Pieter Sonneveld who granted the following awards.

EHA Education & Mentoring Award

proceeded to bestow the EHA Education and Mentoring Award to Professor Irene Roberts and Professor Shaun McCann for their outstanding efforts towards educating and mentoring hematologists worldwide. Both are exemplary educators with a lifelong commitment demonstrated through their many publications as well as contributions to EHA activities like the Annual Congress, Hematology Tutorials and hematology expert interviews. Over the year they have mentored many fellows to a blossoming career in the field.

Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award

Subsequently, Professor Sonneveld granted the Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award 2019 to Professor Dr Willem Fibbe (LUMC, Leiden, the Netherlands), for his outstanding contributions in the field of hematopoietic stem cell and mesenchymal stromal cell pre-clinical research and clinical application. By gathering European and non-European hematologists, his translational research work has resulted in major achievements in the understanding of the mechanisms of hematopoietic stem cell mobilization, as well as of the biology and functional characterization of mesenchymal stromal cells.

Plenary presentations
The session was continued with the presentations by Professor Elizabeta Nemeth (US) and Professor Simon Mendez-Ferrer (UK). View their presentations below.

Irene Roberts | EHA Education and Mentoring Awards 2019

Shaun McCann | EHA Education and Mentoring Awards 2019

Wim Fibbe | Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award Lecture