EHA Curriculum

Harmonization of hematology knowledge is part of EHA’s mission. The first step in harmonizing hematology training is to stipulate the required fields of knowledge, each with its recommended level of competence. For this purpose, EHA published in 2006 the first European Hematology Curriculum.  This document details the different areas which hematologists are expected to cover during their training and expresses the minimum recommended levels of competence that a hematology trainee should attain on a consensual description of the scope of the specialty of hematology. Revisions happened in 2012 and 2018, and the latest update will be published in 2023 once it has been endorsed by National Societies.

The eight sections of the Curriculum are:

  1. Clinical hematology: Benign disorders
  2. Clinical hematology: Myeloid malignancies
  3. Clinical hematology: Lymphoid malignancies and plasma cell disorders
  4. Treatment of hematological disorders
  5. Laboratory diagnoses
  6. Thrombosis and hemostasis
  7. Transfusion medicine
  8. General skills

You can see all subsections in the online Curriculum Passport. 

The full overview of all topics can be found here.

Curriculum Passport online

The Curriculum Passport is an online interactive tool designed to support hematology trainees and hematologists in the assessment of their mastery of hematology. Clearly defined competence levels enable hematologists to self-assess their knowledge and competences and subsequently compare their self-assessed levels to the recommended European levels. This facilitates the identification of gaps in knowledge, which can serve as the basis for identifying one's educational needs.

In addition to helping identify gaps in knowledge, through its links to unique educational material, the curriculum passport permits training directed at deficient areas, using the EHA Campus and other educational activities offered by EHA.