David Grimwade Award

EHA established a new award in honor of the late David Grimwade, for his great involvement and contribution to the European Hematology Association and its scientific activities as Board Member, TRTH Co-Director and Chair of the Scientific Program Committee. He was internationally renowned for his translational research, particularly in the field of acute promyelocytic leukemia. Therefore, the award will be presented each year to honor leading and active basic and translational researchers in the field of hematology. Furthermore, candidature for this award is based on several criteria such as the support of European Hematology, area of expertise, eligibility, other awards, gender and country of origin.

Every year, the EHA Board selects a winner. The award is presented in the Opening Ceremony of the Annual Congress, in which the winner is invited to deliver a lecture.

EHA is proud to grant the 2018 David Grimwade Award to Doctor Peter Campbell (The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Hinxton, United Kingdom), for his significant contribution to our understanding of cancer genetics in general and hematological cancer genetics in particular. His outstanding work has led to the discovery and characterization of many disease specific driver genes in myeloid cancers, such as SF3B1 mutations in MDS with ringed sideroblasts. His in-depth analyses of how somatic mutations drives clonal evolution has paved the way towards a new understanding of how tumors arise and develop. Most recently he has integrated AML genomics with clinical outcome to develop algorithms that allow stratification of patients to individualized treatment regimens that are likely to change the standard of care of AML patients.


Doctor Peter Campbell the winner of the 2018 David Grimwade Award