Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award

The Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2008 to honor outstanding physicians and scientists for their lifetime contribution to the advancement of hematology.

Jean A Bernard (May 26, 1907 - April 17, 2006), a French physician and hematologist was Professor of Hematology and director of the Institute for Leukemia, University of Paris Diderot, at the Hôpital Saint Louis. After graduating in medicine in Paris in 1926, Bernard started his laboratory training with the bacteriologist Gaston Ramon at the Pasteur Institute in 1929.

In 1932, Jean Bernard gave the first description of the use of high dosage radiotherapy in the treatment of Hodgkin's disease. Jean Bernard's research ranges from the demonstration of neoplastic nature of leukemia (1933-1937) to the formulation of methods of treatment. Jean Bernard gave his name to Bernard's syndrome and Bernard-Soulier syndrome. In all, Jean Bernard published 14 textbooks and monographs on hematology. He was elected at the Académie Française on March 18, 1976. In 1981, he was elected a member of Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts in the Department of Medical Sciences. In 1983, he was awarded the Artois-Baillet Latour Health Prize.

EHA congratulates Irene Roberts (MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine at the University of Oxford, United Kingdom) as the winner of the 2023 Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award for her unparalleled dedication and significant impact on advancing the understanding of hematological disorders.

Professor Irene Roberts (right) received the Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award from Professor Elizabeth Macintyre during the EHA2023 Hybrid Congress

Previous winners of the EHA Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement Award